Sametime User's Guide




Table of Contents

Index

Tips for Arranging the Meeting Room

Use the following tips to arrange the Meeting Room to suit your needs.

Screen Sharing, Floating Video, and the Meeting Room

When you are sharing your screen or a program, you are usually working in the shared screen or program, and you can no longer see the Meeting Room. Use the information below to make sure that you can see video, the Participant List, the audio controls, and the Interaction Tabs while you are sharing:

  • To see video while sharing your screen, float the video windows. When the video windows are floating, you can place them next to the screen or program that you are sharing on your computer.


  • Tip Remember that if you are sharing your entire screen, everyone in the meeting will see your video windows when you float them.

  • If you want to see the entire Meeting Room while sharing your screen, resize your browser window by using the buttons in the top right corner of the browser. You can also put your mouse pointer at the bottom right corner to resize window (the mouse pointer becomes a double arrow). When you resize the browser, you can make more or less of the Meeting Room visible, and then place your browser next to the shared program so that you can see both at once.


  • Use the tips below to reduce the size of the Meeting Room, or to make only certain elements visible. For example, if you are not using the Participant List, you can hide the Participant List column so that it is no longer visible.


    • Drag the splitter (the black bars that appear when you move your mouse pointer over the top of the Interaction Tabs) to make the tabs larger or smaller.


    • Expand or hide the Interaction Tabs by clicking the black arrows on the splitter.


    • Show or hide the right hand column (video, Participant List, and audio) by choosing View - Participant List Column - Entire Column to turn the check mark on or off.


    • Show or hide the Interaction Tabs by choosing View - Interaction Tabs - All Tabs to turn the check mark on or off.


Viewing or Hiding Meeting Room Components

  • Participant List: If the Participant List column is not visible, choose View - Participant List Column - Entire Column to turn on the check mark. The Participant List column appears on the right side of the Meeting Room. (This menu item is not available for most participants in a broadcast meeting. If you are an audience member in a broadcast meeting, you cannot view the Participant List.)


  • Interaction Tabs: The Interaction Tabs are Meeting Room Chat, Polling, and Web Pages. These tabs appear at the bottom of the Sametime Meeting Room. If a tab is not visible, use the View - Interaction Tabs menu items to turn on the check mark next to the appropriate tabs. For example, choose View - Interaction Tabs - Poll Tab to view the Poll tab.


  • Audio and Video: If the audio controls are not visible, choose View - Participant List Column - Audio Controls to turn on the check mark. If the video windows are not visible, choose View - Participant List Column - Video Windows to turn on the check mark.


  • Toolbars: If the screen-sharing toolbar is not visible, choose View - Toolbar to turn on the check mark. If the whiteboard tools are not visible, choose View - Whiteboard Tools to turn on the check mark.


Returning the Meeting Room to the Original Layout

If you have changed the layout, you can return the Meeting Room to its original layout whenever you want. Click View - Default Layout.

Making the Shared Area Full Screen

You can maximize the shared area to see a larger view of the shared information. When the shared area is maximized, it covers the entire screen.

To make the shared area a full screen, choose View - Make Shared Area Full Screen, or click Make Shared Area Full Screen on the toolbar.

Note This button is most useful when you are sharing a whiteboard file or viewing information shared by another participant. If you are sharing your own screen, this button has no effect.

Undo

To return to the original Meeting Room layout, click Undo Full Screen on the floating toolbar.

Fitting the Shared Area to the Window

To see all of the meeting content without scrolling, you can fit the shared area to the window.

Fitting the Shared Area

Choose View - "Fit Shared Area to Window," or click "Fit Shared Area to Window" on the toolbar.

A check mark appears next to the "Fit Shared Area to Window" item. The image on the whiteboard or the shared screen is sized to fit into the shared area.

Note This button is most useful when you are sharing a whiteboard file or viewing information shared by another participant. If you are sharing your own screen, this button has no effect.

Returning to Original Size

To return the image to its original size, choose View - "Fit Shared Area to Window" to remove the check mark, or click the "Fit Shared Area to Window" button again. The image on the whiteboard or the shared screen returns to its original size.

See also:
Viewing or Hiding the Audio Controls and Video Windows
Managing the Sametime Connect Window
Floating the Video Windows


© Copyright IBM Corporation 1998, 2002

Send us your comments and suggestions.